Professional Philosophy

I have developed this leadership philosophy to help guide me as a professional. As a professional I am committed to helping both personal and professional growth for those I lead, as well as within myself. I believe in consistent work toward these principles. And I expect those I lead to hold me to the same standards of accountability. The following are my core beliefs as a leader and team member:

  1. I believe as a leader it is important to set an example. Anything I expect of you, I also expect of myself. I will not ask you to do something I would not do. I live by a Gandhi creed, “Be the change you wish to see in the world.”
  2. I believe communication is of the utmost importance. I will provide productive and constructive communication that is relevant to the job, or task at hand. And I expect you to do the same for me. The best way for our team to succeed is to ensure we have open lines of communication.
  3. An integral part of healthy communication is being able to listen to every member of the team, and to value each members thoughts and ideas. I will not always have all of the answers, but I will actively listen to your point of view and seek out the answers to all your questions. Together, we will further our Mission Statement with open lines of communication and listening to all team members equally.
  4. I believe accountability to our team, our employer, and ourselves to be of the utmost importance. I expect you to do what you say and follow through. You can count on me to do the same. We function as a team, supporting one another to ensure all tasks are completed in the most efficient and effective manner. If there is a time you feel you cannot complete a promise made, then I expect you to let me know so we can work out the issue together.
  5. I believe in team work. You are not alone in your work, and you should not feel as if you are. I will not engage myself in the blame game, and I expect the same of you.
  6. I believe in excellence, not perfection. Perfection implies there is no room to grow as a team, and our team will continue to grow each day. I expect you put your best foot forward and give each task your all. I will not tolerate sloppy work. You can expect the same of me. Together we will create a team that pursues a higher level of excellence with each passing day.
  7. I believe in the acknowledgment and celebration of accomplishments. All accomplishments, no matter the size. Sometimes a team grows in leaps and bounds, and sometimes the team grows by taking baby steps, growth is what I expect.
  8. I believe in speaking frankly, yet professionally. If you feel my comments are critical rather than constructive I expect you to tell me. Together we will find a solution.
  9. I believe in being a professional. Being professional contains all the aforementioned beliefs as well as; being on time to work, giving each day your best, maintaining a positive attitude, providing the best customer service you possibly can, completing all assigned tasks efficiently, and working together as a team are integral parts of being professional.
  10. I believe as a leader it is my job, my duty, and my privilege to provide you with all of the skills and opportunities to grow. I will give my best each day, and I will continue to grow as a leader, exemplifying all the attributed of my own philosophy.
  11. All of these standards I have set for myself include my ability to listen to the conversations going on around my organization and jump in when you’re ready to interact with your potential customers or supporters. I need to find out what they want, what they’re talking about and use that to determine how I will engage with them. With todays technology, I can work from anywhere on Earth and I will continue to stay up to date on social media and my content, all in a professional manner.

Social Media

Leave a comment