Target Audience

As we know that public relations are the most important tool to make my presence felt in this highly competitive business world. But, we are often ignorant about the essentials of public relations. Public relations essentials include the objective of using public relations, your target audience, etc. Out of them, the most essential aspect of public relations is understanding your target audience in a better way. To understand my target audience better, I should know who my target audiences are.

To understand my target audience better, I should know their current attitudes, opinions as well as interests. This could be known through market research and by watching the trend of the public demand. On the basis of these information, I should formulate public relations campaign in such a way that it caters to their attitudes, opinions, and interests. It is very important to know my target audience right from the inception of the project and the more I know about my target audiences, the better impact I can create on them through my PR campaign. Knowing my target audience better helps me in the next step of my PR plan – targeting the right media channel.

It will depend on what campaign I am working on as to who my target audience will be. My internal audiences will include the employees, stockholders, and investors of the firm as well as the local community, suppliers, and current customers. External audiences will be those people who are not closely connected with the organization. One my target audiences are identified, the public relations program must be developed and delivered to the receivers. Knowing my target audience will be extremely important in my career.

 

Leave a comment